I created this blog site with the intent of writing regular posts…22 days ago. (So much for diligence.) That aside, my goal is to share my cynical outlook on current events or just discuss my thoughts in general. (I might throw in a picture here or there–photography is my latest hobby.)

Today was another crazy day. I spent most of the day learning a new reporting system for work which led to the ultimate brain-fry. Afterward I did some reading for school–again, brain-fry. Amidst all of this personal responsibility, the world has gone crazy. It is day five of the Donald Trump administration, and this event has left an impression on society, most notably in my Facebook feed. A small number of my friends are Trump supporters; however, the vast majority are distinctly anti-Trump.

Personally, the Trump presidency is surreal. I never would have imagined, based on his campaign rhetoric, that he would be come POTUS; but alas, he has won. The campaign season was emotionally charged to say the least, and now that he has won the election, emotions are running even higher.

With a Republican led House and Senate, the Donald has the potential to advocate for some very hard-right legislation. Already within his first few days he has taken several executive actions that may have far-reaching effects on foreign policy and domestic affairs. I will reserve comments on specific executive actions and executive orders for another post, but it is obvious that he is on his way to shifting the US society (for better or worse).

There is though and overall sense of dread and despair. The day after his inauguration there was the Women’s March which took place in Washington, D.C., and also in several other cities in the US. His administration has coined the term ‘alternative facts‘ resulting in increased sales of Orwell’s 1984.

It has definitely been an interesting few days. We shall see what other craziness will ensue in the coming days.

Alas, it is late, and I must be responsible in the morning. Goodnight, and signing off.

One thought on “Another Crazy Day

Leave a Reply

